Malabrigo Arroyo Aniversario

Classes & Events

 

Sandpiper & Hoof-to-Hanger Fiber Saturday 

 

September 11th, 2021  12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Have some fun with fellow fiber artists on the second Saturday of each month! Join us at the Sandpiper/Garden/Hoof-to-Hanger Fiber Mill and enjoy the company of others who share your passion for fiber-y creations! ! Bring your knitting, spinning, crochet, or the portable craft you prefer. Receive 15% off your entire purchase on Fiber Saturday. See you then! Parking is also available at the mill entrance.

 

 

Fiberside Virtual Chat with Linda Ligon & Anne Merrow

Setember 12th, 2021.

We're thrilled to collaborate with Longmont Yarn Shoppe, Longmont, CO., and several shops across the US to bring you a series of live Zoom classes featuring well-known designers and makers. You can register directly through Longmont www.longmontyarn.com and scroll down to choose the Sandpiper as your LYS; or register through our online store www.thesandpiper.biz. 

Pulling color from nature is an ancient and universal human pursuit, and still relevant today. In this chat, Long Thread Media partners Anne Merrow and Linda Ligon talk about their new publication, Nature’s Colorways: Conjuring the chemistry and culture of natural dyes. Blue from green leaves, magenta from crusty lichens, a rainbow from your garden—there’s a full spectrum of possibilities represented in its pages, plus travels in time and space back to 18th century London, to 21st century gallery shows. Learn more about the world of natural dyes that may be right out your back door! Can Anne and Linda talk and pound leaves at the same time? Tune in and see.

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, September 12th at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, 2:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Pacific.

 

 

Fiberside Virtual Chat with Paula Pereira
 

September 18th, 2021

We're thrilled to collaborate with Longmont Yarn Shoppe, Longmont, CO., and several shops across the US to bring you a series of live Zoom classes featuring well-known designers and makers. You can register directly through Longmont www.longmontyarn.com and scroll down to choose the Sandpiper as your LYS; or register through our online store www.thesandpiper.biz. 

 

This Fiberside Chat takes us to Brazil to visit with Paula Pereira! Paula’s adventures in knitting design play with different types of construction, cool details, color and fiber choices. She’ll explain why and how the different combinations of these elements work in her beautiful designs. Paula will also demonstrate a 1 x 1 Tubular Cast On and Bind Off that can be adapted to other types of ribbing too! You don’t want to miss this engaging hour with Paula! 

 

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Saturday, September 18th at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, 2:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Pacific.

Fiberside Virtual Chat with Natalie Warner

September 25th, 2021

We're thrilled to collaborate with Longmont Yarn Shoppe, Longmont, CO., and several shops across the US to bring you a series of live Zoom classes featuring well-known designers and makers. You can register directly through Longmont www.longmontyarn.com and scroll down to choose the Sandpiper as your LYS; or register through our online store www.thesandpiper.biz. 

In this Fiberside Chat, Natalie Warner will be joining us via zoom from London to share her approach to knitwear design – particularly surface pattern and tessellations. Tessellations refer to the geometric plan of the pattern as a whole and this leads to both texture and colour in knitwear patterns! Natalie will show us how she designs colourwork for knits through a live demonstration of creating tessellations using nothing but a pencil and squared paper.  If you’ve ever wanted to design your own stranded colourwork designs, Natalie’s process shows you one way in which you can do it! We’ll get sneak peeks at upcoming patterns and see the development work behind one of them, the Parquet cowl. This will be a fun Chat that opens our eyes to creating with tessellations!

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Saturday, September 25th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific and 6:00pm BST.

 

IMG_2639
IMG_2987
IMG_3026
IMG_1828
IMG_2913 (1)
IMG_2914
IMG_2050
IMG_1927
classes-content8